Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

Not unlike most working moms I have a nightly routine that puts Michelin Star Chefs to shame. My task – create a wholesome and tasty meal in less than one hour. Sometimes, I fail miserably, but more often than not I’m proud to say I rock my kitchen.

A favorite go to? Chicken cutlets. Warning – before you read any further, I don’t often give recipe specifics.  I’m the kind of cook that does by doing, touching, tasting and smelling. For me – it’s always a “little bit of this and a little bit of that.”   This recipe is no exception. However, it’s not too hard to follow and if you go “light” on the spices,  I’m certain you will be successful.

This particular recipe is inspired by my amazing husband and his wonderful Mexican family.


INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Package thin sliced chicken cutlets (I prefer Purdue or Nature’s Promise)
  • Flour to coat chicken (I prefer Wondra brand but any flour will do)
  • About 1/2 teaspoon of cumin
  • About 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Salted butter (a generous amount | used to saute chicken)
  • Two fresh limes
  • Fresh Cilantro
  • About a 1/2 cup chopped scallions
  • About a 1/2 cup of white cooking wine (I typically use Holland House)
  • About a 1/2 cup of chicken broth (I prefer Swanson)
  • Queso Fresco (I typically buy Tropical)

DIRECTIONS

  • Place flour in a large bowl, add spices, salt and pepper and toss with a fork
  • Dredge chicken cutlets in flour and set aside
  • Add butter to large saute pan and melt on medium-high heat
  • Once butter is completely melted, add cutlets and brown on both sides (add more butter if needed)
  • Remove cutlets from pan
  • Add chicken broth, wine and juice from 1 1/2  limes and stir to mix well
  • Add cilantro and scallions, cook for about one minute on a medium heat adding more broth if needed — don’t let the liquid evaporate
  • Place chicken cutlets back in pan. Turn to a very low heat. cover and simmer for about 20-25 minutes.
  • About five minutes before serving, grate the queso fresco directly into the pan and put the cover back on. Feel free to add as much or as little cheese as you prefer. I recommend using at least a 1/2 cup to give the sauce a creamy taste and texture.

Serve the chicken with a side of rice and vegetable of your choice!

